Menu Close

What were the northern states in 1790?

What were the northern states in 1790?

Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island had few or no slaves in their populations. These states were in the North.

How many states were there in 1790?

POP Culture: 1790

The 1790 Census 10 Largest Urban Places
Official Enumeration Date: August 2 18,320
Number of States: 13 16,359
Cost: $44,000 13,503
Cost per Capita (cents): 1.1 9,913

Was Virginia considered a Southern state in 1790?

2. The nation’s five largest cities in 1790 were Baltimore, Maryland; Boston, Massachusetts; Charleston, South Carolina; New York, New York; and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Students should shade Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia. Most of these states were in the South.

Is there a 1790 census for Virginia?

At the census of 1790 the state of Virginia was returned with a population of 747,160, leading, by more than 300,000, Pennsylvania, the second state of the Union in point of population at the First Census.

Which state has the most slaves in 1790?

Four states had more than 100,000 slaves in 1790: Virginia (292,627); South Carolina (107,094); Maryland (103,036); and North Carolina (100,572).

Which two states had the largest populations?

US States – Ranked by Population 2021

Rank State 2018 Population
1 California 39,461,588
2 Texas 28,628,666
3 Florida 21,244,317
4 New York 19,530,351

When did the US get 50 states?

Alaska was admitted to the Union on January 3, 1959. Hawaii was admitted to the Union a few months later, on August 21, 1959. The admission of Alaska and Hawaii to the Union brought the U.S. to 50 total states….United States by Statehood.

State Statehood Year
South Carolina 1788
Virginia 1788
North Carolina 1789
Rhode Island 1790

Who is the 50th state?

1959: Alaska and Hawaii admitted, respectively, as the 49th and 50th states of the Union.

Is Virginia considered a southern state?

As defined by the United States Census Bureau, the Southern region of the United States includes sixteen states. The South Atlantic States: Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia. The East South Central States: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi and Tennessee.

What is the most southern state?

Mississippi is the most Southern state by a hair The rest of the top five — Georgia, South Carolina, and Louisiana — make up the other states of the Deep South.

Can you search the census for free?

You can access census records many different ways: View digitized Census Records online through one of our partners, or ( is free-of-charge.

What happened to the 1790 census?

Although the census was proved statistically factual, based on data collected, the records for several states (including Delaware, Georgia, New Jersey, and Virginia) were lost sometime between 1790 and 1830. Almost one third of the original census data have been lost or destroyed since their original documentation.

What states existed in 1790?

The First Census of the United States (1790) comprised an enumeration of the inhabitants of the present states of Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, and Virginia.

1790: In the original 7 free states, slavery has been or is gradually being outlawed: Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Hampshire, New Jersey

What state had the largest population in 1790?

According to U.S. Census data, what were the three most populous states in 1790? Answer. The states with the greatest populations were Virginia (747,610), Pennsylvania (434,373), and North Carolina (393,751).

What states were in the Union in 1790?


  • 1787
  • 1787
  • 1788
  • 1788
  • 1788
  • 1788
  • 1788
  • 1790
  • 1791