Menu Close

What planet is below Mercury?

What planet is below Mercury?

In their outward order from the sun, the five bright planets are Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn.

How many planets are before Mercury?

Our Solar System has eight planets which orbit the sun. In order of distance from the sun they are; Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Pluto, which until recently was considered to be the farthest planet, is now classified as a dwarf planet.

What is closer to the sun than Mercury?

So, Mercury is the closest planet to the Sun. And then Venus is the second closest planet to the Sun, and Earth is the third closest planet to the Sun. The distance of Mercury to the Sun is actually an average.

What planets are smaller then Mercury?

Mercury, the smallest planet, has a diameter of 4,780 km. This makes Jupiter , the largest planet, over 28.5 times bigger in diameter than Mercury. 9. Pluto, now designated as a dwarf planet, has a diameter of 2,400 km. This means that Pluto is over 59 times smaller in diameter than the massive Jupiter.

What planet is smaller than Earth but larger than Mercury?

Jupiter is the largest planet in the solar system at 139,822 km in diameter. This means that Jupiter is actually more than 28.5 times larger in diameter than the smallest planet, Mercury. 2. Saturn measures out to be 116,464 km in diameter. This makes Saturn over 9 times bigger in diameter than the Earth.

What planet is Mercury most similar to?

The composition of Venus and Mercury is similar, they’re both terrestrial planets made of rock and metal. Mercury is more dense than Venus and thought to consist of 60-70% metal, with the rest rock. As mentioned above, Mercury lacks an atmosphere, while Venus has the thickest atmosphere of all the terrestrial planets.

What planet is bigger mercury or earth?

Is Mercury Bigger than Earth? Mercury is not bigger than Earth. Mercury is less than half the size of the earth with a mean radius of about twenty-five hundred kilometers compared to the mean radius of the Earth, which is roughly six thousand four hundred kilometers.