Menu Close

What islands do France own?

What islands do France own?

Did you know?

  • The Islands of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Martin, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon (Atlantic Ocean)
  • Reunion island, Mayotte, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Indian Ocean)
  • French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna (Pacific Ocean)

What countries do France own?

The five overseas collectivities of France include:

  • Saint-Barthélemy (Caribbean)
  • Saint-Martin (Caribbean)
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon (North America)
  • Wallis and Futuna (Pacific)
  • French Polynesia (Pacific)

How many island territories does France have?

13 overseas territories
France currently has 13 overseas territories across the globe that are home to some 2.6 million people. All of the residents are French nationals, can vote for president and send representatives to France’s National Assembly and Senate.

What are French territories called?

Under the French Constitution, overseas departments-regions and the territorial communities are Guadeloupe, Guiana, Martinique, La Réunion, Mayotte, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre- et-Miquelon, the Wallis and Futuna Islands and French Polynesia.

What are two French islands in the Caribbean?

French Caribbean

  • Guadeloupe.
  • Martinique.
  • Saint-Barthélemy.
  • Saint Martin.
  • French Guiana.

What is France’s national animal?

The Gallic Rooster
The Latin word “gallus” means both “rooster” and “inhabitant of Gaul”. Certain ancient coins bore a rooster, but the animal was not used as the emblem of the tribes of Gaul. Gradually the figure of the rooster became the most widely shared representation of the French people.

Is Canada owned by France?

Canada remained a French territory until 1763, when it became a British colony known as the Province of Quebec….Canada (New France)

• Founding of Trois-Rivières 1634
• Founding of Montreal 1642
• Ceded to Britain 1763
Currency New France livre

Are French Polynesians French citizens?

French Polynesians are French citizens with the right to live anywhere in France. They are entitled to vote in local and French national elections.

What colonies Does Britain still own?

Current territories

  • Anguilla.
  • Bermuda.
  • British Antarctic Territory.
  • British Indian Ocean Territory.
  • British Virgin Islands.
  • Cayman Islands.
  • Falkland Islands.
  • Gibraltar.

What language is most spoken in the Caribbean?

Spanish-speakers are the most numerous in the Caribbean. English is the first or second language in most Caribbean islands and is also the unofficial “language of tourism”, the dominant industry in the Caribbean region.

Does France own any Caribbean islands?

The term French West Indies or French Antilles (French: Antilles françaises) refers to the five territories currently under French sovereignty in the Antilles islands of the Caribbean: Guadeloupe, including the islands of Basse-Terre, Grande-Terre, Les Saintes, Marie-Galante, and La Désirade.

What is France’s motto?

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
Marianne and the motto of the Republic. Marianne is the embodiment of the French Republic. Marianne represents the permanent values that found her citizens’ attachment to the Republic: “Liberty, Equality, Fraternity”.

Are there any islands in the French Republic?

The lands making up the French Republic, shown at the same geographic scale. This is a list of islands of France, including both metropolitan France and French overseas islands.

What are the names of the French islands in Antarctica?

The territory includes Amsterdam Island, Saint-Paul Island, Crozet Islands, and the Kerguelen Islands in the southern Indian Ocean near 43°S, 67°E, along with Adélie Land, the sector of Antarctica claimed by France, named by the French explorer Jules Dumont d’Urville after his wife.

Which is the only overseas territory of France?

Country Territory/Dependency Status France French Polynesia Overseas Lands of France France French Southern and Antarctic Lands Overseas territory of France France Glorioso Islands Possession of France, administered from France Guadeloupe Overseas Department of France

Where are the French islands in the Indian Ocean?

Crozet Islands (Îles Crozet), a group in the southern Indian Ocean, south of Madagascar; Adélie Land (Terre Adélie), the French claim on the continent of Antarctica; the Scattered Islands (Îles Éparses), a dispersed group of islands around the coast of Madagascar.